The Old Velasco/Surfside Beach Historical Committee (OV/SBHC) meets monthly at City Hall in Surfside Beach, Texas.

Our 2018 members are:

Chairman:  Robert Bradley
Vice-Chairman:  Tom Hines
Secretary:  Cary Mae Lucas
Treasurer/Co-Historian:  Dortha Pekar
Co-Historian:  Marilyn Davison
member:  Marsha Hines
member:  Scott Smithey

Old Fort Velasco Historical Association (OFVHA)

Chairman:  Ron McCulley
Vice-Chairman:  Dortha Pekar
Secretary:  Karalee Lance
Treasurer:  Ron McCulley
member:  Admiral Chester Barnes
member:  Tom Hines
member:  Melanie Oldham
member:  Sandra Wood-Wicke

Pictured:  (left to right) Dr. Aubrey Tucker (March 3, 1945 – September 25, 2018) – founder and former chairman of the Old Fort Velasco Historical Association, Nat Hickey, Ron McCulley (treasurer), Tom Hines, Dortha Pekar (vice chairperson), Karalee Lance (secretary)

Ron McCulley became our chairman after Dr. Tucker’s sudden passing.

Our webmaster is Lizzie Brown.

Become a member of the Old Fort Velasco Historical Association.



OV/SBHC and OFVHA — 4 Comments

  1. My Name Donald R Velasco My grandfather is Jose Margarito Velasco born in1885 My Great grand father is Jose Velasco born 1850. What is the indian tribes name. Do I belong to this tribe . —– Karankawa ——- are there any indians left from this tribe. Mr Donald Velasco —— phone number—1-619-818-3234 our reply to comment born 8/28/1941.

    • Sorry, I just saw your message. I will give you a call later this week–I have a couple of meetings this evening.

      Dortha Pekar. 979-417-3233

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *